What Makes an Artist, an Artist?

Hi everyone, and welcome to my blog! I have been pondering what to write for my first blog post for weeks, agonizing over it really. I’ve researched many beautifully written blogs for inspiration and have read “how to create great blog content” articles ‘til my eyes crossed and in the end, I’ve decided just to write about whatever happens to be in my head at the time I sit down to write it!

The burning question I am asking today is who decides what makes an artist, an artist?

I asked my 12 year daughter “what makes an artist, an artist?” and her reply was just fantastic. She replied that the word “artist” is quite a collective word because it can cover everything from music to photography to painting with all sorts in between, and so an artist cannot really be defined by any particular set of rules. She says that art is your creativity, and that you somehow get it to come from your head to your hands to do whatever is in your mind to do. I cannot disagree- I think she has a very valid point.

I think that art is a very subjective subject, and that one persons vision of art could could be another persons trash- or treasure- depending on how they see the world. Whatever the definition of “art” is or isn’t, my personal definition is that an artwork should be able to provoke some kind of emotion from a viewer. What do you think?

5 thoughts on “What Makes an Artist, an Artist?

  1. Excellent first post! I agree with your definition of art. What makes an artist to me is dedication. A person for which art is a passion he or she can’t live without and spend hours and hours and hours to perfect and challenge his or her creative expressions and as you say can touch people’s heart and emotions with their art. To me that is the difference between a “real” artist and a hobby amatuer artist!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marie- thank you for your comment! Yes, I think passion and dedication are very important for an artist, and practice, practice, practice- regardless of what kind of artist one is, and also I think that we should never be afraid to get it wrong, because sometimes the “wrong” thing can turn out to be something very interesting xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True! Fear of failure is the killer of creativity, or any sort of perfomance pressure, to create top results on the first try or else you are not good enough! I am fighting it!! With your inspirational voice in my head to tell me to just keep trying, and enjoy the process. Hugs! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, I do agree with your point of view on what is an artist. For me I feel that an artist is in some ways giving the viewer a small window into their soul! Some might say that’s why the artists are so passionate about their work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a really good point! I know that when I create something, there is always a little part of me gone into it… But I think it’s fascinating because if you give the same subject to ten artists, you would get ten different interpretations, which is why I feel that art is a very subjective, and very human thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

